The Blink Developer Community

Welcome to the Blink developer community. You'll find comprehensive guides and documentation to help you start working with Blink as quickly as possible, as well as support if you get stuck. Let's jump right in!

Get Started

Authenticated vs Non-Authenticated Integrations

When creating an integration, you are presented with the option of creating an integration that requires authentication or has no authentication required. This guide explains what each option is for.

No Authentication Required

This is the simplest option. An integration that does not require authentication can post to any user or team in your organisation and users will be able to configure which posts they get from your integration by viewing it on the manage integrations page once the integration has been enabled.

How an integration that does not require authentication appears to users in your organisation once it has been enabled.

How an integration that does not require authentication appears to users in your organisation once it has been enabled.

When the user clicks the integration, they are taken directly to a page where they can view the integration's description and configure which post categories from the integration they want to receive.

When the user clicks the integration, they are taken directly to a page where they can view the integration's description and configure which post categories from the integration they want to receive.

Authentication Required

This is advanced functionality. It allows users to be prompted to authenticate with an external system by Blink so that your integration can capture their credentials for this system. You then store these credentials in a Linked Account and use them to fetch data and peform actions in the external system on the user's behalf.

All the integrations that Blink provides are authenticated integrations. For example, the GitHub integration captures user's credentials when they connect their GitHub accounts. It can then send feed events about events in GitHub relevant to the user and the user can click buttons on the feed cards to perform actions in GitHub.

How an integration that requires authentication appears to the user.

How an integration that requires authentication appears to the user.

On click, the user is given more information about what the integration does if they connect their account.

On click, the user is given more information about what the integration does if they connect their account.

When they click Connect, the user is redirected to a page where they input their credentials. The integration uses these credetials to save a linked account for the user via the Blink API. The user then sees that their account has been linked in the manage integrations page. They can then configure which types of feed post they receive from the integration.

When they click Connect, the user is redirected to a page where they input their credentials. The integration uses these credetials to save a linked account for the user via the Blink API. The user then sees that their account has been linked in the manage integrations page. They can then configure which types of feed post they receive from the integration.

For more information about how to build an authenticated integration, please read Building Authenticated Integrations.

Authenticated vs Non-Authenticated Integrations


Suggested Edits are limited on API Reference Pages

You can only suggest edits to Markdown body content, but not to the API spec.